Tiger’s been tamed

It kills me to say it but I think yesterday we saw the end of Tiger Woods career.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying Tiger should retire tomorrow or even this year, but the dominance of the Tiger Woods era in golf is officially done.

This was supposed to be the year that he got everything clicking again. He changed his swing, he was “healthy”, and by all accounts Tiger looked the best he had in years. But two tournaments into the year and Tiger has now played 2 1/2 rounds of golf, all of those looking not only bad, but flat out unwatchable. I’m one of the biggest Tiger fans out there. The only reason I started playing golf was because I idolized Tiger Woods. I cursed when I hit a ball wide, I slammed my club and yelled OWEN! I wore Nike red and black on the course and did the huge Tiger celebration when I (rarely) hit a putt.

Tiger Woods was the most dominant sports figure I’d ever seen. He’s that level of good that I’m not sure I could ever see anybody in any sport doing what Tiger did for golf. He revived golf. He’s the reason the game is as big as it is today. He’s the reason the best players on tour are 24, 25, 26 years old.

This is not a case of Tiger losing his ability to play golf, because that’ll never happen. He’ll probably play for a few more years and win a couple more tournaments. Hell, maybe he’ll get hot one weekend and win another major. But with his age, injury history, and the increasingly competitive level of play on the tour (which is kinda his fault when you think about it), Tiger Woods will never again be a force to be reckoned with on the tour. He’ll be the big name on TV and when, not if, but when he makes a run at a tournament, he’ll be the sentimental favorite because everybody wants to remember that Tiger who used to win majors by a bazillion strokes. But that guy is gone. Alvida zen Tiger

Leave a Reply

